ROW80 fail

I started this ROW80 thing AMAZINGLY well: my new goal was 1,500 words a day. For a whole week, I wrote 2,000 words each day. It was such a rush.
Then I let life get in the way: a funeral, other things that encouraged me to rearrange my priorities a bit. I didn’t write AT ALL.
But this is the week I get back on track. My goal is 1,000 words every day, plus 30 minutes of research. I’m working on a historical fiction novel and the time period is a bit complex (that’s a good thing!), warranting extra research.
Wish me well–I am going to conquer this goal this week!

This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ROW80 fail

  1. Alicia, you didn’t fail. You just needed to adjust your goals. Sometimes we start off with goals that are maybe a little too high. That’s why I keep mine at 500 words per day. That way, when I go over, it makes me feel like I really accomplished something. πŸ™‚

    Good luck with your new goals! I’m sure you’re going to do fine.

  2. Life happens, then we jump back up on the writing horse and get going again. Good luck with your writing this week.

  3. rockfreak says:

    Sometimes life gets in the way. For example, when I’m happy about something, I simply can’t write. The same with being sad. I need to be in a neutral state, cut life for a while, in order to write.

    Best of luck both with your words and the research.

  4. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Ditto what the others said. 2000 words a day is amazing! I too tend to shoot for 500 a day, for ROW80 I’m challenging myself to 700! *g* So you’ve already got me beat for the month. πŸ™‚

  5. I agree with Lauralynn and Robin. This week was not a fail; it was a needed adjustment, and that is the beauty of ROW80–adjust, tweak, whatever, it’s all good!
    Best of luck with the new goals, and keep looking at that half-full glass!

  6. alberta ross says:

    go girl go – no fail just life – all the best for this week

  7. Alicia says:

    Wow, thanks for all the encouragement! I am empowered already!

Leave a Reply

